Question: What Are The 16 Southern States?

What is the most southern state in the US?

HawaiiHawaii has the southernmost geographic center of all the states.

Florida has the southernmost geographic center of the 48 contiguous states..

Is Texas the South or Midwest?

Midwest region (Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin) Intermountain region (Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, Wyoming)

What state is farthest from the ocean?

South DakotaIn North America that “spot” is on the Pine Ridge Reservation in southwest South Dakota about 11 km (7 mi) north of the town of Allen, located 1,650 km (1,030 mi) from the nearest coastline is at 43.36°N 101.97°W.

What states are considered North?

Recognized as these four areas, the North includes Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Which states are in the South?

Southern United StatesSouthern United States The SouthCountryUnited StatesStatesAlabama Arkansas Delaware Florida Georgia Kentucky Louisiana Maryland Mississippi Missouri (depending on criteria) North Carolina Oklahoma South Carolina Tennessee Texas Virginia West VirginiaFederal districtDistrict of Columbia7 more rows

Is Ky a southern state?

What makes a state Southern? … According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the South is composed of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Maryland, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia—and Florida.

Is Memphis considered the South?

Chicago and Detroit are both Midwestern cities. Memphis is a Southern city.

How many states are in the South East?

There are twelve states in the Southeast region. Georgia is the largest state in the Southeast, but Florida has the most people.

What is considered Southeast us?

The Southeast is made up of 12 states, including Louisiana, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky and Arkansas.

What states are considered the dirty south?

UsageMost definitions include the states Georgia, Alabama, South Carolina, Mississippi, and Louisiana.Texas and Florida are sometimes included, due to being peripheral states, having coastlines with the Gulf of Mexico, their history of slavery and being part of the historical Confederate States of America.More items…

What are the true Southern states?

As defined by the U.S. federal government, it includes Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Which state is the heart of the South?

AlabamaAlabama is known as the “Heart of Dixie” because it is in the very middle of a group of states in the Deep South. Dixie itself is a nickname for the American South. It started when Louisiana printed notes with the French word for “ten” on them.

What is considered the dirty south?

However, to my surprise I realized that the “the dirty south” also includes South and North Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Texas, and Tennessee overall; not just Memphis. … Some people feel that “dirty south” is rap music that originated from the south.

What is the dirty dirty?

dirty dirty n. the southern United States; the South. Also durrty durrty. Editorial Note: Usually used with the definite article: the dirty dirty.

What state has the most Southern hospitality?

GeorgiaThe Most Hospitable Southern States Survey says Georgia is the most hospitable state in the South – a ranking that’ll come as no surprise to those who know Savannah ranked as the No. 3 friendliest city in the nation in 2016 – with almost twice as many votes as any other state.

Is Baltimore considered the South?

The Line endures today and the U.S. Census still lists Maryland and D.C. as part of the South. … The concept of the Mason-Dixon Line today is outdated, as few people would describe Baltimore, with its ethnic neighborhoods and industrial tradition, as southern.

Is Tennessee the Deep South?

No. The “Deep South”, traditionally, is Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, and South Carolina. Florida is a land of its own. Texas, although a Confederate state, is considered part of the “West”.

What are the 12 Southeast states?

The nonprofit American Association of Geographers defines the Southeastern United States as Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.