Which Season Is The Short Cropping Season In India?

Which is the short cropping season?

Zaid season is the short cropping season that comes after Rabi season from March to June.


Some examples of crops that are grown in this season are cucumber, watermelon, bitter gourd.

zayed, crops like watermelon are grown in this season..

What is Kharif and Rabi season?

The kharif cropping season is from July –October during the south-west monsoon and the Rabi cropping season is from October-March (winter). The crops grown between March and June are summer crops. … The terms ‘kharif’ and ‘rabi’ originate from Arabic language where Kharif means autumn and Rabi means spring.

Is cotton a kharif crop?

Cotton is a Kharif crop in the major parts of the country viz. Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra and parts of Andhra Pradesh & Karnataka. In these areas, the irrigated crop is sown from March-May and the rain fed crop in June-July with the commencement of the monsoon.

What is cropping pattern in India?

Cropping pattern in India Cropping pattern is a dynamic concept because it changes over space and time. It can be defined as the proportion of area under various crops at a point of time. In other words, it is a yearly sequence and spatial arrangement of sowing and fallow on a given area.

Is cotton a cash crop?

Cotton is a significant cash crop.

Which of the following is a kharif crop I cotton II Paddy III jute IV maize?

Kharif crops are grown with the onset of monsoon in different parts of the country and these are harvested in September-October. Important crops grown during this season are paddy, maize, jowar, bajra, tur (arhar), moong, urad, cotton, jute, groundnut and soyabean.

What are the 3 cropping seasons in India?

constitute some of the important crops grown in the country. India has three cropping seasons — rabi, kharif and zaid. Rabi crops are sown in winter from October to December and harvested in summer from April to June. Some of the important rabi crops are wheat, barley, peas, gram and mustard.

What are the three types of crops?

Cropping SeasonsS. NoCropping SeasonCrops1.RabiWheat, barley, peas, gram, mustard etc.2.KharifRice, maize, jowar, bajra, tur, moong, urad, cotton, jute, groundnut, soybean etc.3.ZaidSeasonal fruits, vegetables, fodder crops etc.Nov 2, 2019

Which crop is both Rabi and Kharif?

Castor seedCastor seed is grown in both Rabi and Kharif seasons. Castor seed is the source of castor oil, which has a wide variety of uses. Castor is an important non-edible oilseed crop and is grown especially in arid and semi-arid region.

Which are Zaid crops?

Zaid cropsWatermelon.Muskmelon.Cucumber.Bitter gourd.Fodder crops.

Which of these is not a major crop?

Cotton is not a food crop and Maize ,Bajra ,Paddy ,Wheat are food crop.

Which one is not kharif crop?

Barley and Mustard are not Kharif crops and Bajara ,Maize,Rice,Jowar,Sugarcane,Groundnut are Kharif crops.

What is Zaid season?

Zaid/Summer Season Crops Agricultural crops which are grown in the short duration between Rabi and Kharif crop season, mainly from March to June, are called Zaid crops.

Which state is the largest producer of cotton in India?

MaharashtraAmong the states, Maharashtra was reported as leading in cotton acreage (44.05 lakh ha) followed by Gujarat (26.66 lakh ha), Telangana (18.59 lakh ha), Haryana (7.01 lakh ha) and Rajasthan (6.44 lakh ha).

Is Mustard is a kharif crop?

Mustard is a Rabi crop. A crop is said to be Rabi or Kharif on the basis of the conditions and environment that supports it’s growth. Rabi crops is the category of crops that are harvested in spring and sowed in winters. … Some of the examples of Rabi crops except mustard are barley, gram, rapeseeds, oat and wheat.

What is kharif season in India?

The crops that are sown in the rainy season are called kharif crops. (also known as the summer or monsoon crop) in India. Kharif crops are usually sown with the beginning of the first rains in July, during the south-west monsoon season. The crops that are sown in the winter season are called Rabi crops.

What is difference between rabi and kharif crop?

What is the major difference between Rabi and Kharif crops? The major difference is that the Rabi crops are grown in the winter season whereas the Kharif crops are grown in the monsoon season.

Which is kharif crop?

Rice, maize, and cotton are some of the major Kharif crops in India. The opposite of the Kharif crop is the Rabi crop, which is grown in the winter.

Which area is best for growing cotton?

Cotton Cotton grows in warm climates and most of the world’s cotton is grown in the U.S., Uzbekistan, the People’s Republic of China and India. Other leading cotton-growing countries are Brazil, Pakistan and Turkey.

What is Rabi Kharif and Zaid?

The sowing of the rabi crops begins at the beginning of the Winter. They are harvested by March or April. Examples – Wheat, Oat, Gram,Pea, Mustard, Almond, Broccoli,Linseed. Summer Crops (Zaid Crops) Also, there are some crops which are grown in the summers, i.e. between Rabi and Kharif season – March to June.

What are the types of crops?

The major crops can all be divided into four main categories depending on their usage.Food Crops (Wheat, Maize, Rice, Millets and Pulses etc.)Cash Crops (Sugarcane, Tobacco, Cotton, Jute and Oilseeds etc.)Plantation Crops (Coffee, Coconut, Tea, and Rubber etc.)Horticulture crops (Fruits and Vegetables)Apr 8, 2019